UK Cluniac Group

2014 Inception

With the encouragement of the European Federation of  Cluniac Sites (FESC), Lewes Priory Trust organised a conference in November 2014 at the British Museum to launch a group representing the 12 sites which are open to the public or have significant public presence. The meeting was attended by representatives from all sites including delegates from Historic Scotland, English Heritage and FESC. The sites which now make up the UK Cluniac Group are:

Bermondsey, Castle Acre, Crossraguel, Delapré, Dudley, Lewes, Monk Bretton, Paisley, Pontefract, Prittlewell, Reading, Thetford and Wenlock.

Details of each these can be seen in our list of Cluniac Priories in the UK.

2014 Conference notes

2015 Conference

The second meeting of group members took place on 6 November 2015 in Barnsley. The Friends of Monk Bretton Priory organised a tour of the priory site in the morning and discussion followed in Barnsley Town Hall in the afternoon. Delegates came from  Castle Acre, Delapré, Dudley, Lewes, Monk Bretton & Pontefract. Christophe Voros, Director of FESC, also attended.

2015 Conference notes

2016 Conference

On 17 October 2013 the 3rd Forum was held at Priory Park, Dudley and hosted by Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council.

2016 conference notes.

2017 Conference

Lewes was host to the 5th conference on 5 October 2017. Delegates came from Crossraguel, Dudley, Lewes, Monk Bretton, Paisley, Pontefract and Reading. The European Federation, Historic Scotland and English Heritage were represented and 16 guests from local organisations also attended.

2017 Conference notes

2018 Conference

The 5th Annual Conference was held in Reading hosted by Reading Borough Council and the Friends of Reading Abbey. It was a unique opportunity to see the results of the major lottery funded Abbey Quarter Project.
Delegates from nine UK Cluniac sites attended as well as representatives of Historic Scotland and The European Federation of Cluniac Sites.

2018 Conference notes